#blogbookaday: Wet

23 May

WetSummary:  “This is a thoughtful exploration of the ways to get and be wet from puddles and pools, to puppy dog kisses. A boy describes how he gets wet at the swimming pool, at the playground, at home. Emotionally resonant and carefully observed, with a gentle bedtime ending, this is a poetic celebration of wetness and childhood. Perfect for fans of Deborah Underwood’s The Quiet Book.” (Taken from Goodreads)

Review: This book really provides readers with a unique perspective of how and where kids get wet. I love the calm, quiet color palette of the book and the coziness of the text. I’m always amazed when authors can take such simple sentences and make them so profound at a child’s level!

Personal Reaction: I would pair this with a STEM storytime on water (float/sink or weather) and it would be perfect – not too long and definitely a different way of looking at getting wet. This could be paired with Red Rubber Boot Day by Mary Lyn Ray for a great rainy day reading session and later you could go out and stomp in puddles and get wet! With an older audience you could even have a discussion on other ways water plays a role in your daily life.

Title: Wet
Author: Carey Sookocheff
Illustrator: Carey Sookocheff
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 20, 2017


#blogbookaday (1)This is a new idea I’m trying on my blog this year that was inspired by @donalynbooks and @heisereads – to provide a brief review of a picture book every day of 2018. You’ll get a brief summary of the story, a review of the content, illustrations and theme, my personal reaction to the book and all the pertinent publication information! Enjoy!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: