#blogbookaday: Chugga Chugga Choo Choo

24 May

Chugga Chugga Choo ChooSummary:  “All aboard, and all join in as the cheerful little train chugs past the seaside, the farm, the forest, the city, and into the station for a nice long rest. Along the way, a flock of noisy seagulls and blackbirds, pigeons and geese hop on for the ride. Kids will have fun looking at Emma Garcia’s colorful, collaged landscapes and counting all the honking, cooing, tweeting birds.” (Taken from Goodreads)

Review: A train travels through the countryside as birds hitch a ride along the way until the train is ready to rest at the station, but the birds are making too much noise!

Personal Reaction: I love Emma Garcia’s work – it’s completely accessible for a two year old and this is no exception. The repetitive text allows kids to read along with you and the fun collage and painted illustrations are kid-friendly, made with basic shapes that kids will recognize and lots of bright colors. This is a perfect book for a toddler or preschool storytime about “things that go”!

Title: Chugga Chugga Choo Choo
Author: Emma Garcia
Illustrator: Emma Garcia
Publisher: Boxer Books
Publication Date: April 4, 2017


#blogbookaday (1)This is a new idea I’m trying on my blog this year that was inspired by @donalynbooks and @heisereads – to provide a brief review of a picture book every day of 2018. You’ll get a brief summary of the story, a review of the content, illustrations and theme, my personal reaction to the book and all the pertinent publication information! Enjoy!

Advertisements

Practice, Practice, Practice: 10+ Nonfiction Titles for Sports Readers

24 May

Summer is here! And that means loads of time for kids to experience books in all their glory. This is also a great time to encourage kids to read the books they choose (without having to worry about school assignments) and to try out new genres that they might be interested in learning more about. This series will offer titles for toddlers to teens and include a variety of formats. Each week will focus on a different genre and will follow the same format:

    • Mondays – Titles for Ages 3-7
    • Tuesdays – Middle Grade Titles for Ages 8-12
    • Wednesdays – Young Adult Titles for Ages 13+
    • Thursdays – Nonfiction pairings
    • Friday – Recap of the Week

Continue reading

#blogbookaday: Wet

23 May

WetSummary:  “This is a thoughtful exploration of the ways to get and be wet from puddles and pools, to puppy dog kisses. A boy describes how he gets wet at the swimming pool, at the playground, at home. Emotionally resonant and carefully observed, with a gentle bedtime ending, this is a poetic celebration of wetness and childhood. Perfect for fans of Deborah Underwood’s The Quiet Book.” (Taken from Goodreads)

Review: This book really provides readers with a unique perspective of how and where kids get wet. I love the calm, quiet color palette of the book and the coziness of the text. I’m always amazed when authors can take such simple sentences and make them so profound at a child’s level!

Personal Reaction: I would pair this with a STEM storytime on water (float/sink or weather) and it would be perfect – not too long and definitely a different way of looking at getting wet. This could be paired with Red Rubber Boot Day by Mary Lyn Ray for a great rainy day reading session and later you could go out and stomp in puddles and get wet! With an older audience you could even have a discussion on other ways water plays a role in your daily life.

Title: Wet
Author: Carey Sookocheff
Illustrator: Carey Sookocheff
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 20, 2017


#blogbookaday (1)This is a new idea I’m trying on my blog this year that was inspired by @donalynbooks and @heisereads – to provide a brief review of a picture book every day of 2018. You’ll get a brief summary of the story, a review of the content, illustrations and theme, my personal reaction to the book and all the pertinent publication information! Enjoy!

%d bloggers like this: