Under the Egg

28 May

18060008“In the tradition of From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Franweiler and Chasing Vermeer comes a mystery that will introduce readers to the secret world of are – and make their next museum visit a whole lot more interesting”.” – inside front cover

That’s all I needed to read to know that I would enjoy Under the Egg.  When I was 5, I wanted to be an artist.  I absolutely loved From the Mixed-Up Files and have done at least 2 0r 3 book discussions on Chasing Vermeer.  And I almost minored in Art History in college and thought seriously about a Museum Studies/Library Science degree for graduate school, so art is something that I’ve been interested in for a very long time.

Theodora Tenpenny is only 13, but when her grandfather passes away, it’s up to her to help run the 200-year-old townhouse, look after her mother, and survive with only $463.  Theo, as she likes to be called, discovers a work of art that may be just the key to making their lives a whole lot easier, so with her new friend, Bodhi, Theo starts searching for the truth, that no one in the art world ever even knew.

I really enjoyed reading this story and it does fit right along with both The Mixed-Up Files and Chasing Vermeer with a mystery surrounding the art of a very famous artist.  I also really enjoyed the back story, as you learn more about Theo’s grandfather and mother, you learn more about how she has grown up and how she sees the world.  With a cast of characters, you’re never really sure what will happen, but the end may surprise you!

Check out the author’s website!

Title: Under the Egg
Author: Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 2014
Page Number: 243 pgs.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: